FAQ

 

The SEP

Is it complicated to prepare an application to study abroad with the SEP?

Building your application requires time, effort and self-direction. The part of the process involving research on partner institutions’ websites is important in finding the institution best suited for your project, and that takes time. Gathering the required documentation, eventually renewing your passport if need be, and applying for your student visa also requires time and thoroughness if you’re going to avoid forgetting anything and make the deadlines. But you’re not the only one going through this! And according to the vast majority of students who have gone abroad to study, these efforts are really worthwhile!

Does participating in the SEP mean running a risk of having to extend my studies?

In principle, it doesn’t, since the courses you’ve taken abroad will be credited when you return. For this purpose, make sure your academic advisor approves the courses you want to take abroad. And pass them!

To whom and when must our application be submitted?

Once you’ve filled out the participation request form, you must submit your full application file to the person in charge at your home institution.

The deadline for submitting your full BCI application normally falls between the end of January and mid-February. It’s your home institution that sets this deadline and guides you through your application procedures. Get the information from the person in charge of the exchange program at your university and start thinking about your project a year ahead of time.

Can we submit our application file to the host institution ourselves?

No*, the person in charge at the home institution will ensure that applications files are forwarded to the host institutions. A request for participation submitted directly by an applicant will not be considered.

* With the exception of Université Laval. See their detailed fact sheet.

How will host institution selections be honored?

When you fill out the participation request form, you must select the host institutions at which you’d like to participate in an exchange. Rank them in descending order of priority (your first selection will be the one given priority).

Applicants’ first choices will be honored if at all possible, but there’s no guarantee that they’ll be approved, given the number of applications and the number of places available at the host institution.

Which of Quebec’s academic institutions are participants in the BCI’s Student Exchange Program?

Eleven of Quebec’s academic institutions participate in the SEP. These are Université Laval, Polytechnique Montréal, Université de Sherbrooke, UQAM, UQTR, UQAR, UQO, UQAT, ÉNAP, ÉTS and Bishop’s University. If your institution isn’t included on this list, there are probably other exchange programs or bilateral agreements in place that may allow you to travel to the country and institution you’re interested in. Contact your university for more information.

What are the foreign universities participating in the BCI’s Student Exchange Program?

The full list of foreign SEP partner institutions can be found here.

Is it possible to select universities in other countries?

That depends on the conditions for participation determined by your home institution, so you’ll have to look into that with the person in charge of the SEP at your institution.

What happens if the application is incomplete?

An incomplete application will automatically be rejected.

On the form, which information is optional to provide?

You must provide all information as requested on the form; only the information appearing on a blue background is optional to include.

Need help with the form?

Visit the online help section. If you are enrolled in a Quebec institution the online help section is here. If you are enrolled at a partner institution abroad, the online help section is there. It will also be possible to access by clicking the “?” button found on any page of the form.

When will I hear back about my application?

No specific date can be given. It depends on the university, the program and the period during which you submitted your application. However, you can expect to wait for an average of 6 to 8 weeks following the reception of your application by the university before receiving a response.

VISA

How do I obtain a visa?

For students wanting to come study in Quebec, you’ll find all the information about visas and study permits on the CIC Canada website:

http://www.cic.gc.ca/english/study/index.asp

For Quebec students wanting to go abroad, you’ll find the information on your host country’s embassy or consulate websites.

FINANCING

How should I finance my study abroad project?

No financial assistance is provided by the BCI to SEP participants but certain programs, which exist independently of the BCI, can grant bursaries to students going abroad. Visit the loans and bursaries section on your home university’s website. Contact the person in charge of the SEP at your home university as well, he’ll be able to provide you with information about different options for financing.

For Quebec students wishing to go abroad, you should know about the Programme de bourses pour de courts séjours d’études universitaires à l’extérieur du Québec (PBCSE) (Bursaries program for short periods of academic studies outside of Quebec).

It may also be advantageous to you to visit the Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ) (Quebec international youth offices). This organization provides assistance to students wishing to complete one or two consecutive terms of study abroad. If your project is approved, LOJIQ covers 65% of your international travel expenses up to a maximum amount. For example, for France, the maximum reimbursement is $700. Furthermore, LOJIQ provides general liability insurance coverage up to $2,000,000 for the duration of your project. Additional support is provided to participants from Quebec’s regions. For more information: https://www.lojiq.org/participer/programmes/etudes-et-stages/session-detudes/

How much does it cost to spend time abroad?

Costs vary according to your destination, contact your host institution for more information.

WORK

Is it possible to work part-time while studying abroad?

Generally, no, but that depends on what your student visa allows. Nevertheless, you must mandatorily secure the financial resources necessary to cover your living expenses prior to your departure. For all visa-related questions (study or work):

If you’re a Quebec student, please contact the consulate or the embassy of the country you’re interested in.

If you want to come study in Quebec, this information is available on the following websites:

Is it possible to intern abroad as part of the SEP?

For students coming to study in Quebec, no, the SEP is exclusively devoted to overseeing periods of study (courses).

For Quebec students leaving to study abroad, that depends on your home institution’s policies. (This isn’t possible for the most part, but some universities, such as UQTR, allow internships under certain conditions).

Is it possible for graduate/post-graduate students to do research as part of the SEP?

That depends on your home and host institutions, as well as the credits that can or can’t be obtained for your research activities. The person in charge of your SEP will be able to help you with this.

HEALTH AND HOSPITALIZATION INSURANCE

Do I need a health and hospitalization insurance policy?

Yes. Students admitted to exchange programs must secure a medical insurance policy that will provide them with adequate protection in the event of an accident or illness. In fact, Quebec law makes it compulsory for foreign students to be covered under a medical insurance policy that’s valid in Quebec.

In most cases, a policy must be purchased prior to departure. However, in certain universities, it’s sometimes compulsory for students to sign up for their host university’s insurance plan upon their arrival. Do make sure to obtain all the information you need on this topic from your host university!

Additionally, the government of Quebec has entered into bilateral social security agreements — which include a healthcare component — with the following countries: Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Luxembourg, Norway, Portugal, Romania and Sweden. For more information, visit the Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ) (Quebec health insurance board).

Foreign students who are not covered under such an agreement must sign up for the Group Health and Hospitalization Insurance Plan for Foreign University Students currently offered by Desjardins Financial Security (except at Bishop’s University). To sign up, students must contact their host university directly (Student Life service, Student Services, or International Relations).

This insurance plan costs $972 for 2017-2018. This amount is subject to change each year.

In regard to health and hospitalization insurance, are there any particular conditions that apply to Quebecers leaving to study in France, on Reunion Island, in Guadeloupe or in Martinique?

Yes. Under the terms of an administrative arrangement that determines the implementation of the Protocole d’entente entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de la République française relatif à la protection sociale des étudiants et des participants à la coopération (Agreement on Social Security for Students and Participants in Cooperation Programs between the Gouvernement du Québec and the Government of the French), Quebec students pursuing their studies in France, on Reunion Island, in Guadeloupe or in Martinique as part of student exchange programs may receive sickness and maternity insurance benefits in kind under the French system. They must simply submit the SE 401-Q-106 form, duly completed by their home institution and by the Régie de l’assurance-maladie du Québec (RAMQ), to the Caisse primaire d’assurance-maladie (Regional Sickness Insurance Fund Office) serving their place of residence in France or to either of the islands mentioned above.

However, health care services received in France, on Reunion Island, in Guadeloupe or in Martinique aren’t always reimbursed in full. It remains that the student must cover certain fees. If this student, under the terms of a group or personal insurance policy, already has supplemental health insurance protection, asking his insurance provider about the exact type of protection provided would be a good idea. Supplemental protection must cover the excess expenditures that aren’t reimbursed by the French system. Insurance policies covering only the excess expenditures that aren’t reimbursed by the Régie de l’assurance-maladie du Québec may turn out to be unhelpful.

It is therefore up to the student to judge whether obtaining a supplemental insurance policy is necessary. He can do so in Quebec, prior to his departure, or in France, on Reunion Island, in Guadeloupe or in Martinique, through a private insurance company.

HOW DOES QUEBEC’S UNIVERSITY SYSTEM WORK?

Cycles of study

Quebec’s university system comprises three cycles of study. One becomes eligible for the first cycle after 13 years of schooling. The duration of a study program varies according to the chosen discipline and cycle of study, but the following time frames generally apply:

  • 1st cycle: Bachelor’s degree (3 to 4 years) and certificate (1 year)
  • 2nd cycle: Master’s degree (2 years) and 2nd-cycle diploma (1 year)
  • 3rd cycle: Doctorate (3 to 5 years).

Terms

The academic year is divided into three terms:

  • The fall term starts in late August or early September and ends in mid-December.
  • The winter term starts in early January and ends in late April.
  • The summer term starts in early May; an intensive term ends in late June and a regular term ends in mid-August.

Not all universities offer summer classes, find out by contacting your host institution. Completing a summer term may be mandatory in certain programs.

Credits

A credit is a unit that allows for the assignment of a numerical value to the workload required for a student to attain the objectives specific to a course or other activity.

A course in Quebec’s university system is generally worth three credits representing 45 hours of learning activities (classes, practical assignments, lab work, internships, exams, etc.) as well as individual work, spread out over one term (15 weeks). For research- or internship-related activities, the nature of the work and the workload are established on a case-by-case basis.

The number of credits required to obtain one’s diploma is generally:

  • 90 to 120 credits for a bachelor’s degree
  • 45 to 60 credits for a master’s degree
  • 90 credits for a doctorate
  • 30 credits for a 2nd-cycle diploma or certificate.

A student must be enrolled in a minimum of 9 or 12 credits per term (depending on the cycle of study) in order to be considered full-time. To find out about the number of credits assigned to a particular course or complete study program, simply take a look at the course or program description. Most courses or activities are worth three credits.

For the purpose of comparison with the European system, one credit in Quebec’s university system is worth two credits in the European Credits Transfer System (ECTS).

LIVING IN QUEBEC

Is it easy to find housing in Quebec?

All of Quebec’s institutions offer on-campus residences. That being said, not all foreign students are guaranteed a room in university residence, but if you submit your application quickly, that is, as soon as you receive your offer of admission from the university, you increase your chances of finding a room in residence at your university.

Living in an apartment near the campus can be a good idea.

Your host university’s Student Services or International Relations service will be able to direct you to a list of available apartments.

Since it can be difficult to find housing abroad from your home country prior to your departure, we strongly recommend that you book at least temporary accommodations for the first few days of your stay.

Do universities provide support for foreign students?

Of course! At each university, you’ll find support aimed at foreign students (notably, a number of welcome and integration activities) by contacting the Student Life service or the International Relations service.

Additionally, Quebec universities offer a wide range of services to all of their students, and do so in several areas (physical health, psychological counselling, academic and professional orientation, French, housing, etc.), as do student associations, of course.

ARRIVAL

I’ll be arriving in Quebec via the Montreal airport. Is there a welcome service there?

Yes, every year in August! In collaboration with different organizations, Accueil Plus, a welcome service aimed at foreign students arriving at the Montreal-Trudeau airport, is offered. This airport welcome period is generally held during the last three weeks of August. The exact schedule is announced at the beginning of summer.

What is the Accueil Plus service?

The Accueil Plus service caters to foreign students who arrive at the Montreal-Trudeau airport every August in view of studying at one of Quebec’s colleges or universities. The service is intended to facilitate these students’ arrival at the airport.

For more information about this activity, visit the Accueil Plus website.

PARTNERS

I don’t see my institution in the list of Quebec’s partner institutions. Can it become a partner if it isn’t already?

If your institution isn’t on this list, don’t hesitate to contact us to discuss a potential partnership. Learn how to become a partner.

How is a BCI Convention membership application evaluated when submitted by an academic institution or association of academic institutions?

Institutions or institution associations wishing to join the Student Exchange Program (SEP) Convention with the Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (BCI) must contact us at: echanges-etudiants@bci-qc.ca.

The coordinator will make sure that the application is complete and, if need be, will contact the institution’s representative in order to obtain any missing information.

The Student Exchange Program Member Universities Group will proceed to the evaluation of application files; when this examination is complete, one of the following decisions will be made:

The application for membership is denied:

In this case, the institution or institution association will receive a letter informing it of this decision.

The application for membership is approved:

In this case, the institution or institution association will receive a letter informing it of this decision.

The Convention, a five-year agreement, comes into effect on the date of signature by both parties.

Implementation of the Convention will be ensured by the BCI’s Student Exchange Programs’ coordinator, who will submit two copies of the Convention to the partner, in each language agreed upon by the parties involved, for signature by the head of the institution or institution association. Signed copies will need to be returned to the BCI to be signed by the president of the Student Exchange Program Member Universities Group. A copy of each convention will be sent to the partner institution, and another will be kept at the BCI’s secretariat.

FAQ

 

Le PÉÉ

Est-il compliqué de préparer un dossier pour étudier à l’étranger avec le PÉÉ?

Monter son dossier demande du temps, des efforts et de l’autonomie. La phase de recherche sur les sites internet des universités partenaires est importante pour trouver l’établissement qui correspond le mieux à votre projet, cela prend du temps. Rassembler les documents demandés, éventuellement renouveler votre passeport si besoin, faire votre demande de visa d’études demandent également du temps et de la rigueur pour ne rien oublier et respecter les délais. Mais vous n’êtes pas le seul à passer par là! Et selon la grande majorité des étudiants qui sont partis étudier à l’étranger, ces efforts en valent vraiment la peine!

Est-ce que la participation au PÉÉ risque d’allonger la durée des études?

En principe non, puisque les cours effectués à l’étranger vous seront crédités à votre retour. Pour cela, assurez-vous que votre responsable académique approuve les cours que vous souhaitez prendre à l’étranger. Et réussissez-les!

A qui et quand doit-on soumettre notre dossier de participation?

Après avoir complété le formulaire de demande de participation, les candidats doivent soumettre leur dossier complet au responsable de leur établissement d’attache.

La date limite pour remettre son dossier BCI se situe normalement entre la fin janvier et la mi-février. C’est votre université d’attache qui décide de cette date et qui vous accompagne dans vos démarches. Renseignez-vous auprès du responsable du programme d’échanges de votre université et commencez à murir votre projet une année à l’avance.

Peut-on transmettre notre dossier de participation nous-même directement à l’établissement d’accueil?

Non*, c’est le responsable de l’établissement d’attache qui assurera la transmission des dossiers dans les établissements d’accueil. Une demande de participation transmise directement par un candidat ne sera pas considérée.

* À l’exception de l’Université Laval. Voir leur fiche détaillée.

Comment les choix d’établissements d’accueil vont-ils être respectés?

En complétant le formulaire de demande de participation, vous devez choisir les établissements d’accueil où vous souhaiteriez participer à un échange. Classez-les par ordre de priorité décroissante (ie. votre premier choix est celui qui aura la priorité).

Les premiers choix des candidats seront respectés dans toute la mesure du possible, mais ils ne peuvent être garantis, compte tenu du nombre de demandes et de la capacité d’accueil de l’établissement concerné.

Quels sont les établissements universitaires québécois participant au programme d’échanges étudiants du BCI?

Onze établissements universitaires québécois participent au PÉÉ. Il s’agit de l’Université Laval, Polytechnique Montréal, Université de Sherbrooke, UQAM, UQTR, UQAR, UQO, UQAT, ÉNAP, ÉTS et Bishop’s University. Si votre établissement n’y figure pas, il existe probablement d’autres programmes d’échanges ou ententes bilatérales qui peuvent vous permettre de partir dans le pays et l’établissement qui vous intéresse. Renseignez-vous auprès de votre université.

Quels sont les établissements universitaires étrangers participant au programme d’échanges étudiants du BCI?

La liste complète des établissements universitaires étrangers partenaires du PÉÉ se trouve ici.

Est-il possible de choisir des universités dans des pays différents?

Cela dépend des conditions de participation établies par votre établissement d’attache. Il faut donc vérifier auprès de la personne responsable du PÉÉ dans votre établissement.

Que se passe-t-il si le dossier est incomplet?

Un dossier incomplet sera automatiquement rejeté.

Sur le formulaire, quelles sont les informations optionnelles?

Vous devez fournir toutes les informations demandées dans le formulaire ; seules celles qui apparaissent sur fond bleu sont optionnelles.

Besoin d’aide avec le formulaire?

Consultez l’aide en ligne. Si vous êtes étudiant au Québec, elle est par ici; si vous êtes étudiant à l’étranger, elle est par . Elle sera accessible aussi à partir de chacune des pages du formulaire en cliquant sur le bouton « ? ».

Quand recevrai-je une réponse à ma demande d’admission?

Il n’existe pas de date précise. Cela dépend des universités, du programme et de la période à laquelle vous avez déposé votre demande. Mais vous pouvez compter en moyenne 6 à 8 semaines après la réception de votre dossier par l’université avant de recevoir une réponse.

Visa

Comment obtenir un visa?

Pour les étudiants voulant venir étudier au Québec, vous trouverez tous les renseignements sur les visa et permis d’études sur le site de CIC Canada : http://www.cic.gc.ca/francais/etudier/index.asp

Pour les étudiants québécois voulant partir à l’étranger, vous trouverez l’information sur les sites web de l’ambassade ou du consulat de votre pays d’accueil.

Financement

Comment financer mon projet de séjour à l’étranger?

Le BCI n’offre aucun support financier aux participants du PÉÉ mais il existe certains programmes indépendants du BCI qui peuvent délivrer des bourses aux étudiants en mobilité. Consultez la section bourses ou financement sur le site internet de votre université d’attache. Renseignez-vous également auprès du responsable du PÉÉ de votre université d’attache, il pourra vous donner de l’information sur les différentes possibilités de financement.

Pour les étudiants québécois qui désirent faire une mobilité à l’international, sachez qu’il existe un Programme de bourses pour de courts séjours d’études universitaires à l’extérieur du Québec (PBCSE).

Il peut également vous être avantageux de consulter le site des Offices jeunesse internationaux du Québec (LOJIQ). Cet organisme accompagne les étudiants qui souhaitent réaliser une ou deux sessions consécutives d’études à l’étranger. Si votre projet est accepté, LOJIQ assume 65% du coût du transport international jusqu’à un montant maximal. Par exemple, pour la France, le remboursement maximal est de 700 $. De plus, LOJIQ fournit une assurance responsabilité civile générale à hauteur de 2 000 000 $ pour la durée de votre projet. Un appui supplémentaire est accordé aux participants provenant des régions. Pour plus d’information : https://www.lojiq.org/participer/programmes/etudes-et-stages/session-detudes/

Combien coûte un séjour à l’étranger?

Les coûts varient selon la destination, renseignez-vous auprès de votre université d’accueil.

Travail

Peut-on travailler à temps partiel quand on étudie à l’étranger?

Généralement non mais cela dépend de ce que permet votre visa d’études. Vous devez néanmoins avoir obligatoirement les ressources financières nécessaires à votre subsistance avant votre départ.

Pour toutes les questions de visa (études ou travail) :

– si vous êtes étudiant québécois, veuillez vous référer au consulat ou ambassade du pays qui vous intéresse.

– si vous souhaitez venir étudier au Québec, ces informations sont disponibles sur les sites suivants:

Peut-on faire des stages à l’étranger dans le cadre du PÉÉ?

Pour les étudiants qui viennent étudier au Québec, non, le PÉÉ est consacré aux sessions d’études (cours) seulement.

Pour les étudiants québécois partant étudier à l’étranger, cela dépend de votre université d’attache. (Pour la plupart ce n’est pas possible, mais certaines universités comme l’UQTR l’autorisent sous certaines conditions).

Est-il possible pour les étudiants des cycles supérieurs de faire de la recherche dans le cadre du PÉÉ?

Cela dépend de vos établissements d’attache et d’accueil, ainsi que des crédits qui peuvent être accordés ou non à votre activité de recherche. Votre responsable pourra vous aider à ce sujet.

Assurance santé et hospitalisation

Est-ce que j’ai besoin d’une assurance santé et hospitalisation?

Oui. Les étudiants admis aux programmes d’échanges doivent se munir d’une couverture d’assurance médicale qui leur fournira une protection adéquate en cas d’accident ou de maladie. En effet, la loi québécoise oblige les étudiants étrangers à détenir une couverture d’assurance médicale valide au Québec.

Dans une majorité de cas, il faut s’en munir avant le départ. Cependant, dans certaines universités, il est parfois obligatoire pour les étudiants de prendre l’assurance de l’université d’accueil à leur arrivée sur place. Veillez à bien vous renseigner à ce sujet auprès de votre université d’accueil!

Par ailleurs, le gouvernement du Québec a conclu des ententes de réciprocité en matière de sécurité sociale incluant un volet relatif à la santé avec certains pays, soit : la Belgique; le Danemark; la Finlande; la France; la Grèce; le Luxembourg; la Norvège; le Portugal, la Roumanie et la Suède. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez le site de la Régie de l’assurance maladie du Québec (RAMQ).

Les étudiantes et étudiants étrangers non couverts par une telle entente doivent souscrire au Régime collectif d’assurance maladie et hospitalisation pour étudiants étrangers d’établissements universitaires présentement offert par Desjardins Sécurité Financière (sauf à l’Université Bishop’s). Pour s’y inscrire, les étudiantes et étudiants doivent s’adresser directement à leur université d’accueil (Service à la vie étudiante, Service aux étudiants, ou Relations internationales.)

Le coût de cette assurance est de 972 $ pour l’année 2017-2018. Ce montant est sujet à changement chaque année.

Pour l’assurance santé et hospitalisation, y a-t-il des conditions particulières pour les Québécois qui vont étudier en France, à l’Île de la Réunion, en Guadeloupe ou en Martinique?

Oui. En vertu d’un Arrangement administratif fixant l’application du « Protocole d’entente entre le gouvernement du Québec et le gouvernement de la République française relatif à la protection sociale des étudiants et des participants à la coopération », les étudiants québécois qui poursuivent leurs études en France, à l’Île de la Réunion, en Guadeloupe et en Martinique dans le cadre des programmes d’échanges peuvent bénéficier des prestations en nature de l’assurance-maladie-maternité du régime français. Il leur suffit de présenter à la caisse primaire d’assurance-maladie de leur lieu de résidence en France ou dans l’une ou l’autre île mentionnée ci-dessus le formulaire SE 401-Q-106 dûment complété par leur établissement d’attache et par la Régie de l’assurance-maladie du Québec (RAMQ).

Cependant, les soins médicaux reçus en France, à l’Île de la Réunion, en Guadeloupe et en Martinique ne sont pas toujours complètement remboursés. Certains frais demeurent à la charge de l’étudiant. Si celui-ci bénéficie déjà, grâce à une assurance collective ou individuelle, d’une protection complémentaire d’assurance-santé, il serait préférable de vérifier auprès de son assureur la nature de la protection offerte. La protection complémentaire doit couvrir l’excédent des dépenses non remboursables par le régime français. Les assurances qui couvrent uniquement l’excédent des dépenses non remboursables par la Régie de l’assurance-maladie du Québec pourraient s’avérer inutiles.

Il appartient donc à l’étudiant de juger de la nécessité de se procurer une assurance complémentaire. Il peut le faire au Québec, avant son départ, ou en France, à l’Île de la Réunion, en Guadeloupe ou en Martinique, auprès d’une mutuelle (compagnie d’assurance privée).

Comment fonctionne le système universitaire québécois?

Les cycles

Le système universitaire québécois est composé de trois cycles d’études. On peut accéder au premier cycle après 13 années de scolarité. La durée des études varie selon la discipline et le cycle choisis, mais représente en général :

  • 1er cycle : Baccalauréat (3 à 4 ans) et certificat (1 an)
  • 2e cycle : Maîtrise (2 ans) et diplôme de deuxième cycle (1 an)
  • 3e cycle : Doctorat (3 à 5 ans).

Les sessions

L’année universitaire comprend trois sessions :

  • La session d’automne commence vers la fin août ou le début septembre et se termine à la mi-décembre.
  • La session d’hiver commence au début de janvier et se termine à la fin d’avril.
  • La session d’été commence au début mai et se termine à la fin juin s’il est intensif ou à la mi-août s’il est régulier.

Ce ne sont pas toutes les universités qui offrent des sessions d’été, renseignez-vous auprès de votre faculté d’accueil. La session d’été peut être obligatoire dans certains programmes.

Les crédits

Le crédit est une unité qui permet d’attribuer une valeur numérique à la charge de travail requise d’un étudiant pour atteindre les objectifs particuliers d’un cours ou d’une activité.

Un cours dans le système universitaire québécois correspond, en général, trois crédits, soit à 45 heures d’activités d’apprentissage (cours, travaux pratiques, travail en laboratoire, stage, évaluation, etc.) en plus du travail personnel, étalées sur une session (15 semaines). Pour les activités de recherche ou les activités reliées à un stage, la nature et la charge de travail sont établies au cas par cas.

Le nombre de crédits nécessaires pour l’obtention d’un diplôme est généralement de :

  • 90 à 120 crédits pour le baccalauréat
  • 45 à 60 crédits pour la maîtrise
  • 90 crédits pour le doctorat
  • 30 crédits pour un diplôme de 2e cycle et au certificat.

Un étudiant doit être inscrit à un minimum de 9 ou 12 crédits par session (en fonction du cycle d’études) pour avoir un statut à temps complet. Pour connaître le nombre de crédits attribués à un cours particulier ou à un programme d’études complet, il suffit de consulter la description du cours ou du programme. La majorité des cours ou des activités comptent trois crédits.

Pour fins de comparaison avec le système européen, un crédit dans le système universitaire québécois correspond à deux crédits dans le « European Credits Transfer System » (ECTS).

La vie au Québec

Est-ce facile de se loger au Québec?

Tous les établissements québécois sont dotés de résidences à même leur campus. Ceci-dit, la place en résidence universitaire n’est pas garantie à tous les étudiants étrangers, mais si vous faites parvenir votre demande rapidement, soit dès que vous recevez l’offre d’admission de l’université, vous augmentez vos chances de trouver une chambre en résidences universitaires.

Habiter dans un appartement en périphérie du campus peut être une bonne option.

Les services à la vie étudiante ou des relations internationales de votre université d’accueil peuvent vous diriger vers une liste d’appartements disponibles.

S’il peut être difficile de trouver un logement à distance avant votre départ, nous vous recommandons fortement de réserver au moins un logement temporaire pour les premiers jours à votre arrivée.

Est-ce que les universités offrent un soutien aux étudiants étrangers?

Bien sûr ! Dans chacune des universités, vous trouverez auprès du service à la vie étudiante ou des relations internationales du soutien destiné aux étudiants étrangers, notamment des activités d’accueil et d’intégration socioculturelle.

De plus, les universités québécoises offrent une panoplie de services à tous leurs étudiants, et ce, dans plusieurs secteurs (santé physique, aide psychologique, orientation scolaire et professionnelle, français, logement, etc.) sans oublier les associations étudiantes.

Arrivée

J’arriverai au Québec par l’aéroport de Montréal. Y a-t-il un service d’accueil?

Oui, chaque année en août ! En collaboration avec différents organismes, Accueil Plus, un service d’accueil des étudiants étrangers à l’aéroport Montréal-Trudeau est offert. Ces journées d’accueil se tiennent généralement pendant les trois dernières semaines du mois d’août. L’horaire exact est annoncé au début de l’été.

Qu’est-ce que le service Accueil Plus?

Le service Accueil Plus s’adresse aux étudiants étrangers qui arrivent à l’aéroport Montréal-Trudeau au mois d’août de chaque année en vue d’étudier dans un établissement d’enseignement universitaire ou collégial québécois. Ce service vise à simplifier l’arrivée de ces étudiants à l’aéroport.

Pour plus de renseignement concernant cette activité, consulter le site Web d’Accueil Plus.

Partenaires

Je ne trouve pas mon établissement dans la liste des établissements partenaires. Peut-il devenir partenaire s’il ne l’est pas encore?

Si votre établissement ne fait pas partie de ceux-là, n’hésitez pas à prendre contact avec nous pour voir comment nous pourrions établir un partenariat. Consulter la page Devenir partenaire.

Comment s’effectue l’examen de la demande d’adhésion déposée par un établissement universitaire ou un regroupement d’établissements universitaires dans le cadre de la Convention du BCI?

Les établissements ou les regroupements d’établissements désireux d’adhérer à la Convention Programme d’échanges étudiants (PÉÉ) avec le Bureau de coopération interuniversitaire (BCI) doivent communiquer avec nous à l’adresse suivante : echanges-etudiants@bci-qc.ca.

La coordonnatrice s’assurera que le dossier est complet et, au besoin, elle communiquera avec le représentant de l’établissement afin d’obtenir les informations manquantes.

Le Groupe des universités membres du Programme d’échanges étudiants procédera à l’évaluation des dossiers de candidature; à l’issue de cet examen, l’une ou l’autre des décisions suivantes sera prise :

la candidature est rejetée :

dans ce cas, l’établissement ou le regroupement d’établissements est informé de la décision par une lettre.

la candidature est retenue :

dans ce cas, l’établissement ou le regroupement d’établissements est informé de la décision par une lettre.

La mise en œuvre de la Convention sera assurée par la coordonnatrice du programme d’échanges étudiants du BCI qui transmettra au partenaire deux exemplaires de la Convention, dans chacune des langues convenues par les parties, pour signature par le chef d’établissement ou le chef du regroupement. Les copies signées devront être retournées au BCI pour signature par le président du Groupe des universités membres du Programme d’échanges étudiants. Une copie de chacune des conventions sera acheminée à l’établissement partenaire, l’autre étant conservée au secrétariat du BCI.

La Convention, d’une durée de cinq ans, entre en vigueur à compter de la date de signature par les deux parties.